French Wine Classification

  - June 21, 2019

In this article, I’m sharing with you some information regarding the French Wine Classification System.

This will allow you to have a better understanding about what you read on French wine labels.
So let’s be a bit technical (but not too much)!

First, you need to know that the information displayed on French wine labels is controlled by a wine classification system, that determines the conditions of production: allowed grapes, viticulture, minimum expected quality…  
Italy, Spain, or Portugal have similar regulations.

The French System was created in the begining of the 20th century, in order to help consumers know what they drink.

French wine has 3 primary classification levels : the AOP (or AOC) – the famous appellations, then the IGP or “Vin de Pays” and then the “Vin de France”.

Historically, the more specific the location is, the higher the rank and quality!

I’m explaining everything in the following video.

Back to blog menu